Reviews by Tammy Phillips

Read Tammy Phillips's Blog

A Year with Jesus

A Year with Jesus

On 12/22 Tammy Phillips wrote: It wasn't too long ago that I was thinking that I wanted a study that focused on the teachings of Jesus. And conveniently, R.P. Nettelhorst delivered. A Year With Jesus is a 365 day devotional guide that focuses on Jesus' own words. Each daily entry begins with Biblical text and concludes with reflections ...

Tammy's Rating:

4 Stars

View all reviews for this book

Sunrise on the Battery

Sunrise on the Battery

On 10/9 Tammy Phillips wrote: Fans of South Carolina, Charleston, and it's social structure, will enjoy Sunrise on the Battery by Beth Webb Hart. This story details the lives of the Scoville family, a rags to riches couple, who is able to rise to the social elite and provide everything they didn't have for their girls. And then, ...

Tammy's Rating:

3 Stars

View all reviews for this book

Gabby, God's Little Angel

Gabby, God's Little Angel

On 9/13 Tammy Phillips wrote: This sweet, sweet children's book by Sheila Walsh gives life and a visual interpretation to Psalm 91:11. Gabby is a guardian angel in training on her first assignment. She is sent to help protect a little girl named Sophie who is a fearless, spontaneous little girl after Gabby's own heart. Gabby takes ...

Tammy's Rating:

5 Stars

View all reviews for this book

Thunder Dog

Thunder Dog

On 8/5 Tammy Phillips wrote: What a great testimony of faith and survival by Michael Hingson in Thunder Dog: the true story of a blind man, his guide dog, and the triumph of trust at ground zero. Michael was on the 78th floor of the North Tower on September 11, 2001 and this is his tale of survival. I was thoroughly engaged in his ...

Tammy's Rating:

4 Stars

View all reviews for this book

In Front of God and Everybody

In Front of God and Everybody

On 6/11 Tammy Phillips wrote: April Grace is a down home country gal who lives in Cedar Ridge, Arkansas. She lives with mom, dad, an older sister, and a dog, and grandma lives just across the way. I chose to read this book because it seems very similar to my family's current situation...we live in rural Blue Ridge with grandma and ...

Tammy's Rating:

4 Stars

View all reviews for this book

Unsinkable

Unsinkable

On 4/3 Tammy Phillips wrote: I loved this book! Unsinkable, by Abby Sunderland and Lynn Vincent,  is full of aspirations, adventure, action, challenge, vibrant descriptions, hope, adversity, success, growth, and so much more. Sixteen year old, Abby, shares the journey of her attempt to sail solo around the world. She reveals ...

Tammy's Rating:

5 Stars

View all reviews for this book

The Band that Played On

The Band that Played On

On 3/13 Tammy Phillips wrote: The Band that Played On, by Steve Turner, is a recounting of the tragedy of the Titanic, focusing on the lives of the eight musicians who went down with the ship. Each of the eight musicians’ lives, prior to their voyage on the Titanic, is chronicled in their own chapter. They were all young, respectable ...

Tammy's Rating:

2 Stars

View all reviews for this book

Pujols

Pujols

On 2/19 Tammy Phillips wrote: I am not a sports fan, but I enjoy biographies. I am not a sports fan, but I am the mother of one. I am not a sports fan, but after reading this book, I am a Pujols fan. Pujols: More than the Game by Scott Lamb and Tim Ellsworth shares the story behind the amazing career of Albert Pujols. We meet Albert ...

Tammy's Rating:

3 Stars

View all reviews for this book

The Promises She Keeps

The Promises She Keeps

On 1/28 Tammy Phillips wrote: What are The Promises She Keeps? This novel by Erin Healy was good. It peeked my interest. I am now thinking about the symbolism I may have missed in the first reading. All positives, in my mind, as I finish a satisfying read. This story revolves around the question of life and the source that powers ... The Promises She Keeps

Tammy's Rating:

4 Stars

View all reviews for this book